Latest News

Friday, September 19, 2014

Issuu on iOS

After some struggles integrating with the platform, and just in time for the release of iPhone 6, Issuu has finally launched its premier app for iOS. Now Apple users can enjoy the world of craft spirts in a beautiful new mobile format they can carry in their pocket.

Download the app and follow MicroShiner today!


Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Daily Pour

Journeyman Distillery - W.R. Whiskey


This bottle is dedicated to the original journeymen: the ones who made the spirit of adventure true. These men took risks and dreamt big; they were entrepreneurs in every sense of the word. With our W.R. whiskey we salute all the journeymen that came before us. - Journeyman Distillery

Wyoming Whiskey's Bartender Shootout

This afternoon Wyoming Whiskey will announce their bartender contest in Wyoming, the Bartender Shootout. Participants will be required to create 6 glasses of their signature cocktail recipe using Wyoming Whiskey as the base. Rules include such criteria as "no shots" and "no fishbowls", which we agree with, though we're less excited by "no flames or fires."

At stake is a State Championship and $2,500, plus the title of Wyoming’s burliest, surliest, and best bartender. An additional reward of $500 will go to the bar who turns over the winning bartender. If you’re a Wyoming bartender, check it out.

If you’re an enthusiastic spectator who likes micro-distilleries, craft spirits, and cocktails, you can weigh in at one of the events.  Check their site at wyomingwhiskey.com/shootout for the Regional and State Championship locations, which will be announced in late October.





Tuesday, September 9, 2014

MicroShiner on Silodrome

Along with Le Container, Matt Machine, LowTech, MotArtThe Selvedge Yard, and A Continuous Lean, one of the sites that inspires the creation of MicroShiner is Silodrome. When I came across James McBride's tribute to gasoline culture, the full scope of what MicroShiner could be became clear to me. Billed as "The modern gentleman's guide to cars, motorcycles, gear, gadgets and gasoline culture," Silodrome captures and delivers the best in vintage auctions, every day carry items, historcal motor sports footage, and small scale production, with discerning taste and an intuitive sense for the best at hand.

So it was a distinct honor for us to be featured on the site this week. I believe that James is one of a handful of innovators who are currently defining the new refined style, and his grasp for the history and proper accoutrement of the modern day gentleman scofflaw is definitely worthy of note. If you don't follow his site, you should.


Friday, September 5, 2014

Drinking Music: Sittin' Circle

One thing is certain, drinking music don't get no better than this. Enjoy the weekend!




Latest from St. George Spirits

We're always looking to share news from around the world of craft spirits. Here is the latest newsletter from St. George Spirits, America's original craft distillery: 




Hi friends,

It's the opposite of a slow news week around here! Here's what's been keeping us busy and coming to a glass near you.
 
Lot 14 of St. George Single Malt Whiskey now shipping

At last, Lot 14 of our single malt is on its way out of the distillery! Our California distributor just picked up its NorCal order today, which means that bottles should start showing up with select local spirits shops, restaurants, and bars soon. Shipments are also en route to Southern California, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Louisiana, Nevada, and Wisconsin, with other states to follow shortly.

Local folks: We've gotten word from Heads, Hearts & Tails (the store located here at the distillery) that they already sold their entire allocation of Lot 14 (which was quite limited) to pre-orders, which means they will not have any more bottles available to purchase. We haven't heard of any other retailers accepting pre-orders, so we wish you luck finding a bottle as inventory starts to land on local shelves.

Please remember, this spirit is extraordinarily limited and precious—just over 3,000 bottles to share with you and every other whiskey freak on the planet! If you're able to land a bottle, we hope you'll enjoy every sip.

 
Updates on upcoming new releases: aged California apple brandy, aged California agricole rum, St. George vodka

Our new releases of St. George California Reserve Apple Brandy and California Reserve Agricole Rum are in the home stretch. We'll be bottling both spirits before the month is out, which means they should start showing up locally sometime in October, and in other states thereafter. If you missed the last newsletter or need a refresher on these spirits, you can find details here. As always, when we have more specifics on release dates, we'll share the info via our Facebookpage and Twitter feed; if you want to be among the first to know, please follow us online!

In the meantime, our team is still hard at work developing our new line of St. George vodkas, which we hope to have in your glass before Thanksgiving. Stay tuned...

 
Breaking & Entering Bourbon on hold

Sad news for bourbon fans: For the foreseeable future, we will not be bottling any more Breaking & Entering Bourbon.

As we've stated from the get-go, B&E is a product of barrels we "stole" from some of the most esteemed bourbon distilleries in Kentucky and blended back here at our distillery in Alameda. In the three years since we began the B&E project, our costs for buying bourbon to blend into B&E have skyrocketed. We accepted lower margins because we saw B&E as a contribution to the category worthy of the St. George name and we wanted to be able to keep producing a spirit we love to drink—and share.

Unfortunately, the bourbons that we want to blend into B&E are no longer for sale at any price. 

We believe that we'll see those choicest barrels on the market again, but in the meantime the bourbon that we want simply doesn't exist.

We're proud of B&E—a sourced and blended bourbon worthy of our legacy as America's oldest craft distillery. We're proud of our team that has shaped B&E into a relevant brand that customers care about and call for by name. While we're disappointed that we don't currently hold the casks to blend more B&E, we made the call not to compromise the integrity of what we put into B&E—even if that meant discontinuing the brand in the short term.

Breaking & Entering didn't exist a few years ago and we're guessing that the bottles that remain on the market will get snapped up by bourbon lovers as passionate about B&E as you are. If you're lucky enough to have a bottle at home or to spot some on the shelf of a spirits shop near you, please savor it—and know that when we get back to barrel thievin', you'll be the first to know.

 
Featured recipe: Northern Terroir

This recipe from Zachary Nelson (The North Left, Santa Ana) makes great use of our herbaceous and woodsy Terroir Gin by combining it with Green Chartreuse and Art in the Age Sage—earning it a win as one of Gary Regan's 101 Best New Cocktails this year.

Northern Terroir
3/4 oz St. George Terroir Gin
3/4 oz Green Chartreuse
3/4 oz Art in the Age Sage
3/4 oz fresh lime juice
1/2 oz rosemary syrup

To make, shake all ingredients over ice and double-strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Slap a fresh rosemary sprig and add it as a garnish.

For the inspiration behind the drink (as well as details on how to make Zach's rosemary syrup), see here.


 

St. George Spirits | 2601 Monarch St., Alameda, CA 94501 | 510.769.1601

For reservations, see here. For directions, see here.

Visitor hours: Wednesday–Saturday noon–7pm, Sunday noon–5pm
 

Friday, August 29, 2014

Drinking Music: The War on Drugs

The War on Drugs have been getting crazy accolades for their new latest album Lost in the Dream. So put away the pillbox, grab your favorite cocktail, and take a look at the video for their single Under the Pressure.

WATCH THE WAR ON DRUGS' "UNDER THE PRESSURE" VIDEO -


The War On Drugs play "Red Eyes" on the Late Show with David Letterman -  

THE WAR ON DRUGS'TOUR DATES:
(newly added shows in bold)
Thu. Sep. 4 - Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Music Festival: The Lincoln Theatre [Tickets]
Fri. Sep. 5 - Sat. Sep. 6 - Chicago, IL @ Hideout Block Party/AV Fest [Tickets]
Sun. Sep. 7 - Boston, MA @ Boston Calling [Tickets]
Sat. Sep. 13 - Burlington, VT @ Grant Point North Festival [Tickets]
Sun. Sep. 14 - Ottawa, ON @ Ottawa Folk Fest [Tickets]
Mon. Sep. 15 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix - SOLD OUT
Tue. Sep. 16 -Detroit, MI @ St. Andrews [Tickets]
Wed. Sep. 17 -Columbus, OH @ Newport [Tickets]
Fri. Sep. 19 - Cleveland, OH @ Downtown Festival: House of Blues [Tickets]
Sat. Sep. 20 -Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre [Tickets]
Sun. Sep. 21 - Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theatre [Tickets]
Mon. Sep. 22 -Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave [Tickets]
Tue. Sep. 23 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave [Tickets]
Wed. Sep. 24 -Omaha, NE @ Waiting Room [Tickets]
Fri. Sep. 26 - Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater [Tickets]
Sat. Sep. 27 - Houston, TX @ House of Blues Houston [Tickets]
Sun. Sep. 28 - Austin, TX @ Stubb's [Tickets]
Wed. Oct. 1 - Pomona, CA @ The Glass House [Tickets]
Thu. Oct. 2 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre - SOLD OUT
Fri. Oct. 3 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre - SOLD OUT
Sat. Oct. 4 - Sacramento, CA @ TBD Festival [Tickets]
Sun. Oct. 5 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore - SOLD OUT
Mon. Oct. 6 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore [Tickets]
Thu. Oct. 9 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre [Tickets]
Fri. Oct. 10 - Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre [Tickets]
Sat. Oct. 11 - Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theatre [Tickets]
Sat. Oct. 12 -St. Louis, MO @ Ready Room [Tickets]
Mon. Oct. 13 -Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works [Tickets]
Wed. Oct. 15 - Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel [Tickets]
Thu. Oct. 16 - Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle [Tickets]
Fri. Oct. 17 - Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom [Tickets]
Sat. Oct. 25 - Stockholm, SE @ Munchen Brewery [Tickets]
Sun. Oct. 26 - Aarhus, DK @ Voxhall [Tickets]
Mon. Oct. 27 - Berlin, DE @ Heimathafen [Tickets]
Tue. Oct. 28 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso - SOLD OUT
Thu. Oct. 30 - Sat. Nov. 1 - Paris, FR @ Pitchfork Music Festival [Tickets]
Fri. Oct. 31 - Zurich, CH @ Kaufleuten [Tickets]
Sat. Nov. 1 - Luxemburg, LU @ Rockhal [Tickets]
Sun. Nov. 2 - Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique - SOLD OUT
Tue. Nov. 4 - Liverpool, UK @ O2 Academy [Tickets]
Wed. Nov. 5 - London, UK @ Roundhouse - SOLD OUT
Thu. Nov. 6 - Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy [Tickets]
Fri. Nov. 7 - Manchester, UK @ The Ritz - SOLD OUT
Sat. Nov. 8 - Glasgow, UK @ O2 ABC - SOLD OUT
Sun. Nov. 9 - Reykjavik, IS @ Icelandic Airwaves Festival [Tickets]
Wed. Dec. 10 - Brisbane, AU @ The Zoo - SOLD OUT
Thu. Dec. 11 - Melbourne, AU @ Hi-Fi Bar - SOLD OUT
Sat. Dec. 13 - Sydney, AU @ Metro Theatre - SOLD OUT
Sat. Jan. 31 - Wed. Feb. 4 - Riviera Maya, MX @ Hard Rock Hotel [Tickets]

Lost In The Dream purchase links:
Secretly Canadian - http://www.smarturl.it/warondrugs 
Independent shops - http://smarturl.it/warondrugs_indies